Week 13: Back on that Horse

turkeyThis may or may not be a truncated version of Parlays and Teasers as we are trying to get this out today before the Thanksgiving day games.  Maybe we can get into a groove as we did with last week’s picks.   A highly skilled workmanlike 9-4 ATS along with calling 2 unders (Jet game, 9er game) coming through.  We are back smack dab sitting at exactly .500 so it was an enjoyable week.  Looking at this week’s schedule, the good feelings won’t last long because I think Week 13 will be the toughest to date.  A bunch of short weeks and really close match ups to contend with.

QUICK LEAGUE NOTES

A ton of real interesting events taking place last week.  I knew we were doing well going into the Sunday night game but before going to bed I saw it was 24-0 Broncos over the Patriots at half so that put a damper on things.  I figured that was just a waste of a pick.  I didn’t find out until the next afternoon that the Pats came back so that was a nice surprise.  Couldn’t believe that when I saw it.   Arizona laid pipe on Indy.   Chefs lost a game that could have huge playoff seeding implications for them to Philip Rivers of all people.  Yuck!.  Playoff battles are really starting to take shape this week   There was also a tie in the Packer Viking game.  That bullshit had a huge effect on me.  In my local market, the 1:00 pm Fox game was Miami/Carolina.  It finished in it’s normal time right around 4pm.  Fox then cut to the GB/MIN game in OT which literally took an hour which delayed cutting to the NYG/DAL game.  I was so livid.  My favorite part was the last minute of the OT took 15 minutes.  It was hysterical.  This is how the last sequence of the game went.  I swear to God you can look this up.  GB was on their 35 after a first down with about a minute to play.   False start, then incomplete pass with a flag for holding.  It’s now 1st & 25 from their own 20.  They have no timeouts either and basically zero chance of getting into position to kick a field goal.  Complete pass out  for 7 yards of bounds stopping clock.  Incomplete pass.  Referee Conference.  Then Punt that leaves 1 second on the clock after a fair catch.  Minnesota finally runs a play that gets no where near the end zone and the game mercifully ends.  The Giant game gets picked up as the first quarter is about to expire at just after 5pm EST.   Fuck you Fox!

WEEKLY RANT

I know I mentioned this a few weeks ago regarding how early this Christmas stuff comes around now.  Case in point, Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer was on CBS last night.  Blow Me!  It’s 2 days shy of Thanksgiving and we’re forced fed Rudolph.  Fuck you CBS!  I watched it though and actually laughed when Yukon Cornelius falls off that cliff.  I was hoping in this new November version of Rudolph he actually dies a horrible death by falling to his demise and then is eaten by hungry polar bears.   Whatever happened to A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving.   I’m no scholar but that seems more appropriate for this time of year.    Another holiday tradition that I really don’t miss all the much is the travel although I miss seeing family and friends.  I haven’t been outside of Florida during Thanksgiving for a few years now.  The airports during this time of year especially at about 5pm on Wednesday and 8pm on Sunday are probably the worst places on earth.  There is nothing worse than being so hungover from a 4 day bender only to run into a 2 hour security line and an overbooked delayed flight that lands at midnight.

YOUTUBE VIDEO OF THE WEEK

I just cant resist this during Thanksgiving.  Even with the Family Guy quote later this is just unavoidable for me.  Your ass, Your mom’s ass!

STAND UP COMEDY CLIP OF THE WEEK

Saw this whole thing on netflix and though it was pretty funny.

  HIGHLY RANKED FANTASY PLAYER THAT WILL SHIT THE BED THIS WEEK

Last week’s pick of Cam Newton, I feel like it was a win cause he went 19-38 for only 174 yards with a TD & INT.  He salvaged his day by rushing for 51 yards and a TD for 20 points.  He really on had 9 points as a pure QB, so I think was right in my thinking but that rushing TD put him over the top so I have to count it as a loss.

This week’s selection is:

Frank Gore vs STL, ranked as high as #3 RB.

That St Louis front line is pretty decent so I think they can limit Gore.

Prediction:  20 carries, 82 yards, no TDs.  8.2 fantasy points

WEEK 13 GAMES

I’m going to keep this part pretty short and sweet.  This weeks games appear daunting so a few of these I don’t have great conviction one way or the other.

Starting with Turkey Day

GB @ DET (-5.5)

Matt Flynn anyone?  This should be the most watchable game.  Pick: Pack

Lions 28 Pack 26 

OAK @ DAL (-9.5)

Is there a let down in sight after Dallas big win?  I think they win but they haven’t played being big favorites.  Pick: Raiders

Cowboys 28 Raiders 20

PIT @ BAL (-3.5)

Games are usually really close.  Pick: Steelers

Ravens 17 Steelers 16

MIA @ NYJ (-1.5)

I’m picking the Jets only because of the weather which should be chilly. Pick: Jets

Jets 20 Fins 17

JAC @ CLE (-7.5)

Brandon Weeden is starting, no way should he be giving more than a TD.  Pick: Jags

Browns 16 Jags 13

CHI @ MIN (+2.5)

If I was the VIkings, AP would have 35 carries.  Pick: Vikes

Vikes 20 Warehouses 19

NE @ HOU (+7.5)

Texans have lost 10 in a row.  They are brutal.  Pick: Pats

Pats 30 Texans 14

TEN @ IND (-4.5)

Indy is fading fast.  Pick: Titans

Colts 20 Titans 17

TB @ CAR (-8.5)

I don’t think I’ll ever be a believer in Cam Newton.  Pick: Bucs

Panthers 21 Bucs 17

ARI @ PHI (-3.5)

I’m only picking Philly cause they are at home with an early start.  Pick: Eagles

Eagles 24 Cards 20

ATL @ BUF (-3.5)

Falcons packed it in during October.  Pick: Bills

Bills 16 Falcons 10

STL @ SF (-7.5)

Rams have played San Fran tough the last few years even when they were that good.  They are better this time around.  Pick: Rams

9ers 24 Rams 20

DEN @ KC (+3.5)

KC is in their downward spiral now that was coming for weeks.  Pick: Broncos

Broncos 31 KC 20

CIN @ SD (-1.5)

I just don’t trust San Diego after a big win.  Pick: Bengals

Bengals 27 Chargers 26

NYG @ WAS (-2.5)

Gmen’s impossible dream ended with a big thump last week.  So I’ll just be a homer.  Pick: Gmen

Gmen 21 Skins 20

NO @ SEA (-6.5)

Game of the week.  Can’t really trust Saints outdoors especially in that environment.   Pick: Seahawks

Seahawks 27 Saints 20

Enjoy the games everyone and Happy Thanksgiving!

LAST WEEK & YTD RESULTS

Week 12 ATS Record 9-4 (Fuck Yeah)

Season ATS Record 56-56

Week 12 SU Record 7-5-1

Season SU Record 68-43-1

Family Guy Quote

They killed off Brian on the show last Sunday and replaced him with another dog voiced by Paulie Walnuts from The Sopranos.  I don’t think that lasts but the new dog seemed funny.

This week’s quote:

[Peter appears as James Woods on The Late Show with David Letterman]

Letterman:  What are you here to promote, James?
Peter: Well, Dave, I have a hilarious new movie coming’ out on HBO next month. It’s all about 9/11. The movie’s called September 11th, 2000-Fun.
[the studio audience gasps]
Letterman: James, that sounds unbelievably offensive to Americans.
Peter: Well, you haven’t heard what the movie’s about. I play a window washer who has just finished washing the last window of the World Trade Center. And then I turn around to get off the scaffold, and what do you think I see coming? A plane! And I go, “Come on”! You know, it’s real, real old-style comedy, you know, it’s like two pies in the face, and one in a field in Pennsylvania.
Leave a Reply

