wildcardweekend

MoscowMule

We are back baby and just in time for the playoffs.    It’s been a wild few weeks and a crazy year in the NFL.   The story lines are endless, rookie quarterbacks carrying their teams into the playoffs, AP looking unbelievable, Peyton Manning back to his old self.  This is why the NFL is the best thing going even though they are trying to pussify the game.

Sorry we missed week 17 but I hope everyone had a great holiday and new year.  I had a good one myself.   Hung out with the fam, played some golf, won my fantasy football league, ate a ton and drank even more.  I don’t know about you but drinking is just the tits.  Everything I enjoy doing involves drinking.   Now, all of these activities can be done without drinking but are so much better while drinking.  The only thing I don’t do while drinking is working.  Believe you me, if there was a way I could find a way to work and drink at the same time without getting caught or without it affecting me getting paid,  I would do it without blinking an eye.    Some might say “You are killing your body” or “Your liver is probably dead” or “Dont touch me, I’m sleeping”.  My response to those people is “Have you ever had a Moscow mule in a copper mug before?”  I have and they are fantastic.  It is quintessential drinking.  Drinking something that is made too strong but stays cold all the time because of the mug and tastes delicious.   Highly recommend from this guy.

FOR MY FELLOW GIANTS FANS:

I’ve added this one time segment as a way to vent to my fellow Giants fans as we watched our team fall short of replicating last years run.  I’ve thought about it and I think it comes down to 3 simple reasons why they couldn’t get over the hump and into the playoffs.    The first reason is the mental aspect.  They were not a very mentally strong team and believed that since they played best when their backs were against the wall they could just flip on that switch.  This obviously doesn’t work in the NFL.  The Giants don’t play their best when their backs are against the wall, they actually play their best when no one thinks they can win.  Against the Falcons and Ravens, I heard plenty of commentators and writers saying the Giants would win.  They love to play that us against the world card and you can’t play that card when you are defending super bowl champion.  The second reason was the offense depending on the big play too much.  Last year they completed many more big plays and this year they simply did not.   This probably has to do with Nicks being hurt the entire year so it allowed defenses to take away the deep ball.  An inconsistent running game, a down year for Eli and a tough schedule didn’t help.   It’s tough to change an offensive philosophy during the season as they are a high risk high reward offense but adjustments probably could have been made.  The last reason was on the defensive side of the ball.  Just as the offense relied on the big play too often, the defense relied on the front four solely getting to the quarterback.    This obviously didn’t happen with the frequency as it did last year which left an exposed secondary to giving up big plays.   They ended up as the 31st ranked defense and in the bottom half in sacks.  That wasn’t going to get it done in the playoffs anyway.

Lastly, as a Giants fan I’ve come to grips that we will never be the Patriots or the old Colts winning double digit games every year and always being in the playoffs.  Eli will never be his brother or Tom Brady in terms of consistency.    As long as Coughlin and Eli are there it will be a team of great inconsistency.    They have been together now since 2004 and that has been their hallmark.    However,  as bad as they can look for weeks at anytime they also can turn it around for a 6 week stretch to play remarkable football and that’s all it takes in today’s NFL.  Get into the tournament and usually the hot team wins.   I have the faith in Eli, Coughlin and the front office to make one more run before all is said and done.

Week 16 review

With all of the distractions with the holidays I wasn’t able to get time to post Week 17 picks.  I was able to last minute get in the Week 16 picks and believe it or not we broke exactly even.  We hit a parlay with the Colt and Saints winning $75.   However, we lost on San Fran getting killed in Seattle and hit 2 of 3 on another fucking teaser so those were a loss of $75 combined.  In week 15 we had a net loss of $5 so we stand at a loss of ($72.71) for the year.  Not great by any stretch of the imagination but when you factor in doing a teaser every week its not brutal.  My goal was to basically keep my head above water and we still have a chance.    My parlays have exceed my expectations but the straight up winners and teasers have been a large disappointment.    We still got time to get positive and now we get down and dirty with probably one of the most wide open playoff brackets we’ve had in a long time.    Since there are not many games to choose from I think I’m going to eliminate the teaser for the playoffs so we will just be going with winners and parlays.

Wildcard Weekend Picks

1 Winner

Washington +2.5 vs Seattle +105

Very Interesting game here with 2 rookie quarterbacks both playing a much higher level than anyone could ever have expected.   I honestly am basing this on only one thing.  I think Pete Carroll is one of the biggest douches in the game.  I just don’t like him.  I think it stems from the replacement ref game when he was celebrating like a kid at Christmas when he knew damn well they stole that game and then didn’t even bother taking the high road.   I’m also a fan of Washington at home with Seattle having to come across the country.

PREDICTION: WAS 28-23

Bet $50 to win $52.50

2 Parlays

Parlay #1 The lines seem a little absurd this week.  I feel like if these games were played on any other week the lines would look much different.   I’m going to do 2 parlays instead of a teaser.   I really like the underdogs this week.   I think either Vegas knows these games are rigged or they been blowing too many lines in the bathroom.  Baltimore? +7.5?  Fuck off, have you seen them in the playoffs the last few years.  I have and they weren’t very impressive the entire year.    I think Green Bay will do everything in its power to stop AP but I don’t think that everything in its power is enough.  The only thing that sucks is its huge Vig on these teams which hurts the payout but makes me think I’m on to something.

Indy +7.5 at BAL -135  (Chuck Strong)

MIN +8.5 at GB -125

PREDICTIONS:  INDY 24-23, GB 27-21

BET $30 to Win $64.00

Parlay #2 We’ll do a smaller one on the other game.  Again, the lines seem off.  I think Cincy is a team that can get after the Texans O.  I’m not too confident though.  The Texans haven’t looked good in weeks and maybe they can turn it back on but I’ve been impressed with this Cincy team.

Cincy +4.5 -110 &

Under 43.5  -110

PREDICTION:  HOU 21-20

BET $20 to Win $52.90

TOTAL WILDCARD  BETS: $100 to win $169.40

YEAR TO DATE REVIEW

YTD PROFIT/LOSS: (-72.71) (There’s still a few weeks left to get back to positive)

1 WINNER % (2-4 – 33%)

1 PARLAY % (3-3 – 50%)

1 TEASER % (1-5–16%)

MY BLUE HEAVEN QUOTE OF THE WEEK – This week’s:

“It’s not tipping I believe in. It’s overtipping.”

2 comments
  1. Cool Breeze said:

    Moscow mule … yes please! Do they serve those in NO?

  2. A huge Charles Tillman fan from Lyon, France said:

    I know you’re a massive fan of the G-Men and all, and I respect that, but given the fact that part of your blog-reading community is made up of die-hard fans of Da Bears, I’d like a little color-commentary on their organization from time-to-time to keep my interest level up. Having said that, thanks for another mostly enjoyable read.

Leave a Reply

